NBA COVID-19 Health and Safety Protocol Tracker

The 2021-22 NBA season is being bombarded with the newest COVID-19 variant causing mayhem within multiple teams that have been forced to cancel practices, postpone games and sign emergency hardship exemptions while outbreaks are navigated among several organizations.

Update: On Tuesday, League commissioner Adam Silver announced in an interview with Malika Andrews that the NBA would not be pausing the season for the second season since the 2019-2020 season. Silver also said that the Omricon is ‘beyond dominate’ while constituting 90 percent of positive tests.

REPORT: Per League insider Adrian Wojnarowski, the NBA, and the players union have reached an agreement to lessen the quarantine period for COVID-positive players. Players that tested positive for COVID-19 can clear protocols after five days if their “CT values” are above 30.

As of Friday, 260 players total have entered the NBA’s health and safety protocols this season, including 247 in December alone. Nine head coaches have also entered protocols in December, and 11 games have been postponed.

If a team has three positive results, two replacement signings are required. For four or more positive tests, three replacement players will be required. Two-way players will reportedly also have no limit to the number of games they can appear in as well. If a team has 13 players available for a game they do not have to sign any players to a hardship exemption.

A game will only be postponed if a team doesn’t have at least eight players available to play. A tactic the NBA frequently utilized last year when officials postponed 31 games. The League has decided to postpone nine games in total.

Below is the list of players and coaches currently in the League’s health and safety protocols.

Atlanta Hawks (11 players, head coach)

  • Bogdan Bogdanovic
  • John Collins
  • Sharife Cooper
  • Gorgui Dieng
  • Malik Ellison
  • Danilo Gallinari
  • Malcolm Hill
  • Kevin Huerter
  • Jalen Johnson
  • Timothe Luwawu-Cabarrot
  • Onyeka Okongwu
  • Delon Wright
  • Nate McMillan

Boston Celtics (two players) 

  • Enes Kanter Freedom
  • Jayson Tatum

Charlotte Hornets (two players)

  • Vernon Carey Jr.
  • Scottie Lewis

Chicago Bulls (two players, head coach)

  • Tony Bradley
  • Billy Donovan
  • Marko Simonovic

Cleveland Cavaliers (two players)

Dallas Mavericks (five players)

  • Trey Burke
  • Brandon Knight
  • JaQuori McLaughlin
  • Boban Marjanovic
  • Isaiah THomas

Denver Nuggets (four players, head coach)

  • Jeff Green
  • Bones Hyland
  • Monte Morris
  • Michael Malone
  • Zeke Nnaji

Detroit Pistons (two players)

  • Cory Joseph
  • Isaiah Stewart

Golden State Warriors (three players)

  • Draymond Green
  • Damion Lee
  • James Wiseman

Houston Rockets (three players)

  • D.J. Augustin
  • DeJon Jarreau
  • Garrison Mathews

Indiana Pacers (eight players)

  • Malcolm Brogdon
  • Chris Duarte
  • Isaiah Jackson
  • Jeremy Lamb
  • Kelan Martin
  • Caris LeVert
  • TJ Warren
  • Goga Bitadze

LA Clippers (four players, head coach)

  • Brandon Boston Jr.
  • Luke Kennard
  • Tyronn Lue
  • Jay Scrubb
  • Ivica Zubac

Memphis Grizzlies (six players)

  • Dillon Brooks
  • Shaq Buchanan
  • Jarrett Culver
  • John Konchar
  • De’Anthony Melton
  • Xavier Tillman

Miami Heat (six players)

  • Marcus Garrett
  • Udonis Haslem
  • Duncan Robinson
  • Max Strus
  • P.J. Tucker
  • Gabe Vincent

Milwaukee Bucks (two players)

  • Thanasis Antetokounmpo
  • Semi Ojeleye

Minnesota Timberwolves (two players)

  • D’Angelo Russell
  • Karl-Anthony Towns

New Orleans Pelicans (one player)

New York Knicks (five players)

  • Nerlens Noel
  • Julius Randle
  • Mitchell Robinson
  • Wayne Selden
  • Jericho Sims

Oklahoma City Thunder (four players, head coach)

  • Darius Bazley
  • Mark Daigneault
  • Shai Gilgeous-Alexander
  • Jeremiah Robinson-Earl
  • Aaron Wiggins

Orlando Magic (four players)

  • Markelle Fultz
  • Hassani Gravett
  • Robin Lopez
  • Chuma Okeke

Philadelphia 76ers (two players, head coach)

  • Danny Green
  • Myles Powell
  • Doc Rivers

Phoenix Suns (four players, head coach)

  • Deandre Ayton
  • Jae Crowder
  • JaVale McGee
  • Abdel Nader
  • Monty Williams

Portland Trail Blazers (seven players, head coach)

  • Chauncey Billups
  • Keljin Blevins
  • Robert Covington
  • Cameron McGriff
  • Jusuf Nurkic
  • Trendon Watford
  • Brandon Williams
  • Cody Zeller

Sacramento Kings (one player)

San Antonio Spurs (three players)

  • Devontae Cacok
  • Doug McDermott
  • Lonnie Walker

Washington Wizards (seven players)

  • Thomas Bryant
  • Spencer Dinwiddie
  • Rui Hachimura
  • Montrezl Harrell
  • Aaron Holiday
  • Raul Neto
  • Brad Wanamaker

Related articles


Share article

Latest articles


[tdn_block_newsletter_subscribe description="U3Vic2NyaWJlJTIwdG8lMjBzdGF5JTIwdXBkYXRlZC4=" input_placeholder="Your email address" btn_text="Subscribe" tds_newsletter2-image="753" tds_newsletter2-image_bg_color="#c3ecff" tds_newsletter3-input_bar_display="row" tds_newsletter4-image="754" tds_newsletter4-image_bg_color="#fffbcf" tds_newsletter4-btn_bg_color="#f3b700" tds_newsletter4-check_accent="#f3b700" tds_newsletter5-tdicon="tdc-font-fa tdc-font-fa-envelope-o" tds_newsletter5-btn_bg_color="#000000" tds_newsletter5-btn_bg_color_hover="#4db2ec" tds_newsletter5-check_accent="#000000" tds_newsletter6-input_bar_display="row" tds_newsletter6-btn_bg_color="#da1414" tds_newsletter6-check_accent="#da1414" tds_newsletter7-image="755" tds_newsletter7-btn_bg_color="#1c69ad" tds_newsletter7-check_accent="#1c69ad" tds_newsletter7-f_title_font_size="20" tds_newsletter7-f_title_font_line_height="28px" tds_newsletter8-input_bar_display="row" tds_newsletter8-btn_bg_color="#00649e" tds_newsletter8-btn_bg_color_hover="#21709e" tds_newsletter8-check_accent="#00649e" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn19" embedded_form_code="YWN0aW9uJTNEJTIybGlzdC1tYW5hZ2UuY29tJTJGc3Vic2NyaWJlJTIy" tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_family="521" tds_newsletter1-f_input_font_family="521" tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_family="521" tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_transform="uppercase" tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_weight="600" tds_newsletter1-btn_bg_color="#dd3333" descr_space="eyJhbGwiOiIxNSIsImxhbmRzY2FwZSI6IjExIn0=" tds_newsletter1-input_border_color="rgba(0,0,0,0.3)" tds_newsletter1-input_border_color_active="#727277" tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_size="eyJsYW5kc2NhcGUiOiIxMiIsInBvcnRyYWl0IjoiMTIifQ==" tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_line_height="1.3" tds_newsletter1-input_bar_display="eyJwb3J0cmFpdCI6InJvdyJ9" tds_newsletter1-input_text_color="#000000" tds_newsletter1-input_border_size="eyJwb3J0cmFpdCI6IjEifQ=="]