Home hero McPhee 0.4s clear on Day 1

The British rider beats Guevara by nearly half a second on Friday at Silverstone as Garcia finds the going tough in FP2

John McPhee (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) couldn’t have wished for a better start to his home Grand Prix as he set a blistering 2:10.919 in FP2 to boast a 0.433s advantage over the field on Friday. Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) ended Day 1 in second place with his compatriot Xavier Artigas (CFMOTO Racing PrüstelGP) rounding out the Moto3™ top three at the Monster Energy British Grand Prix.

McPhee moves the goalposts

Guevara initially went over half a second clear of anyone heading into the final 10 minutes of the afternoon stint but McPhee moved the goalposts into a different postcode soon after. The first – and only – 2:10 lap was set by the Scotsman on his 11th flying lap of the session, seeing him leapfrog his Spanish counterpart by 0.433s. And it was a blistering time that wouldn’t be beaten, signalling a perfect start to the British GP for McPhee.

Guevara’s fine form continues as he heads into Saturday’s action second on the timesheets, and importantly for the title chaser, his teammate Sergio Garcia – the World Championship leader – could only manage P18 on Day 1 despite topping FP1. Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing) and Lorenzo Fellon (SIC58 Squadra Corse) completed the top five, six and seventh tenths off McPhee respectively.

Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) popped up to P6 on is final flying lap to lead rookie David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports), Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing), Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) and Dutch TT winner Ayumu Sasaki (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) inside the top 10.

Every rider was able to better their FP1 time in FP2, so how many improvements will we see in FP3 on Saturday morning? Find out if anyone can beat McPhee’s impressive benchmark at 09:00 local time (GMT+1). 

Top 10 combined:
1. John McPhee (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) – 2:10.939
2. Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.433
3. Xavier Artigas (CFMoto Racing PruestelGP) + 0.584
4. Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing) + 0.610
5. Lorenzo Fellon (Sic58 Squadra Corse) + 0.744
6. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) + 0.751
7. David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports) + 0.766
8. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) + 0.787
9. Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.796
10. Ayumu Sasaki (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) + 0.974